Summer Celebration Tickets Here!


Not currently being offered
July 28, 2021


The hamlet of Wanakena was established in 1902 by the Rich Lumber Company on 16,000 acres on the southwest side of Cranberry Lake.  When the company left Wanakena for Vermont in 1912, rather than dismantling the workers’ houses, they were sold to residents and to tourists as summer residences.  Allen Ditch  and historian Bill Gleason will lead us on a walking tour of this fascinating former company town set along the Oswegatchie River.

photo courtesy of Kristin Rehder

photo courtesy of Kristin Rehder

Besides the settlement itself, we will see the remarkable and private camp Knollwood. This National Register-listed camp was designed and built by Dr. Frederic R. Calkins in 1915 as a complex of three summer camp buildings and has a remarkable pedestrian suspension bridge over the river to access the property. We’ll also enjoy a lakeside lunch at the Pine Cone Grill’s pavilion.

The tour begins at 10 a.m. and ends around 4 p.m. 

FEE: $50 for members and $60 for non-members.  Total walking distance is about 1.5 miles.  Lunch is included.   



Comment on this tour

Your email address will not be published.