The village of Keeseville was settled in 1808. Located on the Ausable River, the village thrived as an industrial and commercial center, home to the Keeseville Manufacturing Company, the E & J.D. Kingsland Company, and the Ausable Horse Nail Company. The village was also home to R. Prescott & Sons, which employed over one hundred persons by 1864, manufacturing furniture, architectural components, homes, and bridges.
The healthy economy supported vibrant commercial centers along Main Street and Front Street, which were lined with stores, stables, churches, hotels, theaters, banks, offices, and other commercial establishments. The large, elegant homes of merchants and manufacturers and modest dwellings of middle class tradesman rose along its residential streets. Despite the economic decline of Keeseville caused by the factory closings and the construction of the Adirondack Northway, the village is home to 125 buildings and structures listed in the National Register of Historic Places.
CANCELLED Another walking tour of Keeseville will be offered on Saturday, October 7. Both tours will commence at the Adirondack Architectural Heritage office, 1745 Main Street, Keeseville, at 10:00 a.m. Steven Engelhart, AARCH’s Executive Director, will lead the tours.
While registration is not required for these free walking tours, it is always appreciated.