Downtown Glens Falls
Incorporated as a village in 1839, Glens Falls was granted its city charter on March 13, 1908. Growing as an industrial center, it relied heavily on the Hudson River to power its mills. Mark Frost of The Chronicle newspaper will lead a walking tour of the downtown area.
We will explore the city’s industrial, economic, and architectural history over the past 140 years and see the 1891 William McEchron House, now under new ownership and undergoing renovation. Other stops will include the Finch, Pruyn and Company paper mill, buildings associated with lumber baron Henry Crandall, the former Clark Brothers glove factory, the Feeder Canal, and more.
The tour begins at 10 a.m. and ends around 3:30 p.m.
FEE: $35 for AARCH members and $45 for non-members
Total walking distance is about 2 miles.
TOUR REGISTRATION INFORMATION